Visualizing my net worth

19 02 2010

Today I decided to see my how my net worth would look next to Bill Gates’s net worth. According to Wikipedia, he has about 50 billion dollars, and made a rough guess that I had about 25 thousand (including savings and assets). According to these numbers, he has two million times as much money as I do.

In terms of distance, if his money was the length of a soccer field (100 meters), then mine would be 1/20th of a millimeter, or 50 microns.

.05 mm is barely visible on this vernier caliper.

This micrometer measures in inches (.05mm is just under .002"), and can open to a maximum of 1". You can just see the gap between the jaws.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

